Campbells Covered Bridge
April 30, 2008
Campbell’s Covered Bridge is the only remaining covered bridge in South Carolina. It is a well-preserved piece of Upcountry history and it’s picturesque setting attracts tourists, history enthusiast and photographers alike.
Built in 1909, this solid and gabled structure bridges the narrow and lovely, meandering Beaverdam Creek. The bridge on Campbells Bridge Road is located in northern Greenville County, near Tigerville and Gowensville. The pine structure is 35 feet long and 12 feet wide and is an excellent example of a four-span Howe truss featuring diagonal timbers and vertical iron rode.
It was built by Charles Irwin Willis and named after Alexander Lafayette Campbell (1836-1920), the owner of a grist mill and 194 acres located near the bridge. The kudzu covered remains of the old grist mill are also located near the covered bridge.
The bridge has been restored twice since completion, most recently in 1990 and is closed to motor traffic.
Through Greer, SC go north on SR-14 (N Hwy 14). Turn left onto SR-414 (Hwy 414) and proceed 1.1 miles to Pleasant Hill Road. Turn left onto Pleasant Hill Road, Go another four-tenths of a mile and turn right onto Campbell Covered Bridge Road. A quarter mile down you will find South Carolina`s only remaining covered bridge. Directions to the bridge are well marked with brown guide signs.